Feb 182024

The British Science Fiction Association Awards Longlist has been announced and many congratulations to the following DMLA authors who have been nominated for this year’s award in the following categories!

Best Collection:

Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction 2022 – Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki, Eugen Bacon, Milton Davis (Arc Manor)

Languages of Water – Editor, Eugen Bacon (MVMedia)

The Skin Thief – Suzan Palumbo (Neon Hemlock)

No One Will Come Back for Us – Premee Mohamed (Undertow)


Best Novel:

A Second Chance for Yesterday – RA Sinn (Solaris)

The Saint of Bright Doors – Vajra Chandrasekera (tordotcom)

The Valkyrie – Kate Heartfield (HarperCollins)

Witch King – Martha Wells (tordotcom)


Best Short Fiction:

Paperweight – Eugen Bacon & Claire Rhoden (Mothersound)

Sina the Child with No Echo – Eugen Bacon (Mothersound)


Best Shot Non-Fiction:

Dominant Themes in Afro-Centric Fiction – Eugen Bacon (Aurealis)


Best Shorter Fiction:

Broken Paradise – Eugen Bacon (Luna Press)