Feb 032023
 

Publishers Weekly: In this twisting and pitch-black horror tale from Khaw (Nothing but Blackened Teeth), a voiceless mermaid plucked from the ocean ventures into a snowy forest alongside a melancholy plague doctor. These unlikely traveling companions soon encounter a village of mutilated children and uncover the architects of this bizarre encampment: three surgeons obsessed with immortality and the reconstitution of the body. As more of the village’s terrible secrets come to light, the mermaid and the plague doctor must rely on each other to survive. Khaw’s prose is rich and gorgeous (“In my dreams, I still swim that soundless black, still travel its eddies of salt and cold nothing”), and the surprising tenderness at the story’s heart is only magnified by the violence and gore that surround it. Both elements prove devastatingly effective in constructing a folklore-infused world that feels wholly unique for contemporary horror fiction. Expertly blending a gothic atmosphere with elements of splatterpunk, this brilliant novella is not to be missed.

Feb 022023
 

Rebekah Faubion’s THE LOVERS, pitched as Nora Ephron-style, queer rom-com about a tarot card mystic who seems fated to fall for a wedding planner she has a past with, to Kristine Swartz at Berkley, in an exclusive submission, in a two-book deal, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Jan 312023
 

Brazilian rights to Shaun David Hutchinson’s WE ARE THE ANTS, to Record, by Flavia Sala at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Czech rights to New York Times bestselling author Tamsyn Muir’s NONA THE NINTH, the third book in The Locked Tomb series, to Host, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Danish rights to New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher’s SUMMER KNIGHT, DEATH MASKS, and BLOOD RITES, books 4-6 in the Dresden Files series, to Superlux, by Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Dutch rights to Ruby Barrett’s THE ROMANCE RECIPE, to Anne Everard at Heartbeat by Katie Shea Boutillier for Kiana Nguyen.

French rights to New York Times bestselling author Tamsyn Muir’s NONA THE NINTH, the third book in The Locked Tomb series, to Actes Sud, by Sarah Dray at Anna Jarota Agency in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

French audio rights to Nnedi Okorafor’s BINTI TRILOGY, WHO FEARS DEATH and THE BOOK OF PHOENIX, to Noa Rosen at Éditions Thélème by Marie-France Heinic at Anna Jarota Agency on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

German rights to Mia Tsai’s BITTER MEDICINE, to Blanvalet, in a preempt, by Sarah Knofius at Thomas Schlueck Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier at for Anne Tibbets.

German rights to New York Times bestselling author Martha Wells’ FUGITIVE TELEMETRY, the sixth installment in the Murderbot Diaries series, to Heyne, by Sarah Knofius at the Thomas Schlueck Agency in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Israeli rights to Annika Martin’s MOST ELIGIBLE BILLIONAIRE, to Sifrut Shenogaat, by Beverley Levit at The Israeli Association of Book Publishers, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Italian rights to LJ Andrew’s CURSE OF SHADOWS AND THORNS, COURT OF ICE AND ASH, and CROWN OF BLOOD AND RUIN, to Triskell, in a three-book deal, by Stefania Fietta at Donzelli Fietta, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Polish audio rights to New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher’s THE AERONAUT’S WINDLASS, the first book in the Cinder Spires series, to F.H.U. Strix, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Spanish rights to New York Times bestselling author Martha Wells’ WITCH KING plus an untitled fantasy novel, to Hidra, by Amaiur Fernández at International Editors’ Co. in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Jan 182023
 
photo of Martha Wells

Photo By Lisa Blaschke

Last year Martha Wells, author of the bestselling and beloved Murderbot Diaries, which has won the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, and Alex Awards, announced her return to fantasy with WITCH KING, forthcoming in May of this year. Now, she invites readers to rediscover her classic works with the sale of world English rights for six of her backlist fantasy novels to Tordotcom. Each of the six books will be revised and updated by the author and these Tordotcom reissues will be the author’s preferred edition. The first of these is CITY OF BONES, which will be published in trade paperback and ebook in early Fall 2023. Executive editor Lee Harris acquired the rights in a deal negotiated with Jennifer Jackson.

Jan 172023
 

School Library Journal: Excellent insight on life and relationships in this debut that teens can take away from this beautiful, slow-burn contemporary romance…. Fans of Rachel Lynn Solomon and John Green will not be able to put this one down. It will fit right in with the YA collection of any public library.

Jan 122023
 

Library Journal: In the aftermath of the troubles from the previous book, The Queen’s Weapons, three young women must make decisions which will affect not only themselves, but those around them, as Witch provides them with guidance. Queen-in-training Zoey may now be safe within the walls of SaDiablo Hall, but she is still vulnerable to those with sharp tongues and dark thoughts. When a stranger arrives at the hall looking for sanctuary, Zoey’s attempts at friendship could put everyone around her in danger. Meanwhile, Jillian is preparing for her rite of passage that ensures she’ll keep her witch power and the jewels she wears, but a heart secret means facing her powerful family members and their lethally protective natures. Then there’s Saetien, who travels away to discover information, which may finally let her face her own truths as daughter of the High Lord of Hell.

VERDICT A fine continuation of the “Black Jewels” series, keeping the legacy alive with its tangled web of family and power. Bishop’s devoted fans will devour this, while readers of Nalini Singh and Ilona Andrews who enjoy high fantasy may want to start this series from the beginning.

Jan 052023
 

Library Journal: This is a thrilling combination of traditional SF space travel and forward-thinking examinations of what “humanity” will mean in the future. With its blend of science fiction and social justice concepts, this will appeal to advanced teen and adult readers alike who enjoy progressive science fiction.

Dec 302022
 

Arabic rights to Nnedi Okorafor’s BINTI TRILOGY, to YATKHYLON  by Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Czech rights to New York Times bestselling author Martha Wells’ FUGITIVE TELEMETRY, the sixth installment in the Murderbot Diaries series, to Dobrovský, by Nada Popovic at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Dutch rights to Annika Martin and Skye Warren’s PRISONER and HOSTAGE, to Petra Kruijt at April, in a two-book deal, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Hungarian rights to New York Times bestselling author Martha Wells’ WITCH KING, to Fumax, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Israeli rights to Pam Godwin’s LESSONS IN SIN, to U Sifrut Shenogaat, by Beverley Levit at The Israeli Association of Book Publishers Ltd., on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Portuguese renewal rights to New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop’s WRITTEN IN RED and MURDER OF CROWS, the first two books in the Others series, to Saída de Emergência, by Inés López at International Editors’ Co. in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.