May 042017
 

Congratulations to Robert Jackson Bennett and Martha Wells on City of Miracles and All Systems Red being May picks for Amazon’s Best Science Fiction and Fantasy Books of the Month list!

May 032017
 

B&N SFF Blog: The landmark 20th Liaden Universe novel finds Theo Waitley, bonded to the sentient starship Bechimo, seeking an escape from the hordes of people who wish to kill her, seize her vessel, and arrest more or less her entire crew. The Bechimo suggests a vacation of sorts in “safe space.” But that safety falls into immediate question when the walls between universes and times grow thin, and things start leaking through-­including entire starships. One, a battle-scarred relic from an ancient, doomed war, is crewed by Theo’s own ancestors ­and they could use some help in the survival department. The anomalous scenario gives Theo serious choices to make, transforming the “safe space” into something much more perilous­ and much more adventurous.

May 022017
 

RT Book Reviews: Having our hero be an apathetic, pessimistic killer android who can’t stand being looked at without its helmet on and who just wants to spend its time in the comforting grip of TV might seem to some readers like an outlandish premise, but in Wells’ hands, Murderbot is wonderfully relatable, very funny and a great narrator, editorial asides and all. The story is well put together and sketches out an intriguing future, but the real draw is our host, and the result is a story that builds to an unexpectedly moving climax. More Murderbot, please.

Murderbot may have hacked its own systems to become a free agent, but mostly it’s content to work the low-level guard jobs that require its type of SecUnit while only paying minimal attention and trying to stay caught up on its serials. Unfortunately, someone is trying to kill the scientists who are its current employers, and even more unfortunately, those scientists are coming perilously close to understanding that Murderbot is different. And if that happens, they might just start treating it like a person.

May 012017
 

Julian Pavia at Crown has pre-empted world rights to Jonathan French’s THE GREY BASTARDS, winner of Mark Lawrence’s 2016 Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off contest, plus a sequel. A raunchy and swashbuckling fantasy novel in the vein of Scott Lynch and Mark Lawrence, THE GREY BASTARDS is about Jackal, a half-orc ekeing out a hard existence in the wastelands, his roving band of brothers the only thing keeping the soft cities safe from an invasion of full blooded orcs. Or so Jackal believes. When he discovers the true threat, he must decide where his loyalties lie. Cameron McClure at the Donald Maass Agency brokered the deal for Jonathan French, publication for THE GREY BASTARDS is planned for summer 2018.

Apr 302017
 

Georgian rights to Brent Weeks’s THE BLACK PRISM, Book 1 in the Lightbrigher series, to Palitra, by Nada Cipranic at Prava I Prevodi in association with Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency.

Polish rights to NYT bestselling author Brent Weeks’s THE BLOOD MIRROR, Book 4 in the Lightbringer series, along with renewal rights to THE BLINDING KNIFE and Night Angel novella PERFECT SHADOW, to Mag Jacek Rodek, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi in association with Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency.

Turkish rights to Shaun David Hutchinson’s AT THE EDGE OF THE UNIVERSE, to Ithaki, by Nazli Cokdu at ONK Agency in association with Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency.

French rights to 2017 Hugo Award finalists for Best Novel and recently nominated for the John W. Campbell Award (for Best New Writer) Ada Palmer’s TOO LIKE THE LIGHTNING and SEVEN SURRENDERS, of the Terra Ignota series, to Le Belial, by David Camus at Anna Jarota Agency in association with Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency.

Chinese rights to Robert Sheckley’s short story collection THE STORE OF THE WORLDS, to Chengdu Eight Light Minutes, by Gray Tan at The Grayhawk Agency in association with Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency.

Apr 262017
 

Photo of author Yoon Ha Lee.Stephanie Lurie and Rick Riordan have acquired Hugo and Nebula Award nominee Yoon Ha Lee’s Dragon Pearl. In this standalone middle grade novel, Lee draws on his Korean heritage to tell the story of Min, a teenage fox spirit whose brother is missing and thought to have deserted the Thousand Worlds Space Forces in order to find the pearl of the title, an artifact that may have the power to save their struggling space colony. Jennifer Jackson brokered the deal for Lee as one of three authors to launch the list of the new Rick Riordan Presents imprint at Disney Hyperion.

Apr 252017
 

Tor.com: Brimstone is a haunting and surprisingly funny book – at turns raising the hair on your arms, and a laugh from your belly. Cassadaga is a delight, and being able to experience its intricacies and eccentricities through a newcomer’s eyes, reminded me of exploring Hogsmeade from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series, or Hopewell, Illinois from Terry Brooks’s criminally underrated Running with the Demon.

Priest has laid enough groundwork that a sequel seems inevitable, but also wraps things up nicely enough for the experience to feel whole and complete. With its unique mix of Americana, post-war themes, likeable characters, and swift plot, Brimstone is easy to recommend.

Apr 242017
 

Library Journal: This exciting conclusion to Bennett’s trilogy is just as fantastic as the earlier volumes…. Bennett explores the fascinatingly complex gods of the Continent and the magic they left in the world, bringing the series to a satisfying close.

Apr 212017
 

Publishers Weekly: In this genre-bending debut novel, a science fantasy set in 2064, newly awakened demigods and artificial intelligences battle for the fate of South Africa. As a new drug spreads through the population, it unlocks long-hidden abilities and animal affinities, remnants of a mythological time when humans and nature intermingled. While an ancient demigoddess schemes to regain her full powers by causing terror, other people are swept up in the tide of events, including a politician who dreams of embracing his female side as a stage performer, a pop diva, a gay teen in love with his best friend, and an AI collective unsure of its role in the world. Drayden uses numerous perspectives to weave an engaging story that’s populated by a diverse cast and enhanced by fascinating concepts. There’s a lot to take in as the various plot threads interweave and converge toward a surprising climax, but Drayden balances the genre elements skillfully, creating a world where genetic manipulation, sentient robots, and folkloric origin stories can coexist plausibly, if not peacefully.

Apr 202017
 

Publishers Weekly: A tensely written, shocking book that will hold readers on the edge of their seats to the very last page.

Read the rest of the review here!