Sep 302021
 

Brazilian rights to Robert Jackson Bennett’s SHOREFALL, to Morro Branco (Brazil), by Cristina Purchio at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Catalan rights to Nnedi Okorafor’s THE BOOK OF PHOENIX, to Raig Verd, by Amaiur Fernandez at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Czech rights to Nebula and Hugo Award winner Martha Wells’ NETWORK EFFECT, the first full-length novel in the New York Times bestselling Murderbot Diaries series, to Dobrovský, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Estonian rights to Nebula and Hugo Award winner Martha Wells’ ALL SYSTEMS RED and ARTIFICIAL CONDITION, the first two installments in the New York Times bestselling Murderbot Diaries series, to Kirjastus Fantaasia, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Hungarian rights to Nebula and Hugo Award winner Martha Wells’ ROGUE PROTOCOL and EXIT STRATEGY, the third and fourth installments in the New York Times bestselling Murderbot Diaries series, to Fumax, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Polish rights to New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop’s THE QUEEN’S BARGAIN, the tenth book in the Black Jewels series, to Initium, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava i Prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Polish renewal rights to New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop’s DAUGHTER OF THE BLOOD, HEIR TO THE SHADOWS, QUEEN OF THE DARKNESS, THE INVISIBLE RING, DREAMS MADE FLESH, TANGLED WEBS, THE SHADOW QUEEN, SHALADOR’S LADY, and TWILIGHT’S DAWN, the first nine books in the Black Jewels series, to Initium, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava i Prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Polish rights to Ada Palmer’s PERHAPS THE STARS, to Mag Jacek Rodek, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Turkish rights to Nebula and Hugo Award winner Martha Wells’ THE CLOUD ROADS, the first novel in her Books of the Raksura series, to Ithaki, by Merve Öngen at ONK Agency in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Sep 292021
 

Bookpage: Starling does a magnificent job steering clear of the obvious plot beats in this white-knuckle reading experience. For those who crave intense and detailed gothic horror, or those who just want more Guillermo del Toro a la Crimson Peak vibes in their life, this is a must-read.

Sep 212021
 

Booklist: The prolific Mohamed, one of the most unique and engaging voices in genre fiction, presents a dystopian sf thriller set in her home province of Edmonton, Alberta. A post–climate disaster has ravaged the landscape. Reid, the 19-year-old protagonist, carries a strange parasite that has startling relevance to both the ongoing global pandemic as well as the climate crisis. The horrifying aspects Mohamed expertly describes will burrow into the bones of the reader. Survival has not been easy, which is an understatement in this grim universe. Some readers may struggle at times with the scientific jargon, but that does not obscure what is a pulse-pounding, compelling narrative about an impossible chance Reid has in front of her. She can choose to go to it, but in doing so, she would abandon her mother, her friends, and the community in which she lives. Science-fiction and horror readers alike will enjoy Mohamed’s novel, which will appeal to fans of Jeff VanderMeer, Kameron Hurley, and Tochi Onyebuchi.

Sep 202021
 
Photo of author C.L. Polk

Photo credit: Blake Rothwell

C.L. Polk’s award-winning Kingston Cycle—WitchmarkStormsong, and Soulstar—is coming to television. 1212 Entertainment has acquired the rights to the series, and has tapped Alyssa Clark (Teen WolfDominionServantThe 100) to pen the screenplay.

Polk’s debut novel, Witchmark won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 2019, and was a finalist for that year’s Aurora, Locus, Nebula, and Lambda awards.

Sep 172021
 

Sturgeon Award finalist Vajra Chandrasekera’s debut THE SAINT OF BRIGHT DOORS, a richly imagined postcolonial fantasy meeting at the point between THE NAME OF THE WIND and THE GOD OF SMALL THINGS, set in an unsane metropolis brimming with history that is on the verge of eruption, to Carl Engle-Laird at Tor.com, in a six-figure deal, in a three-book deal, for publication in winter 2023, by Michael Curry (world English).

Sep 162021
 

Booklist: Hutchinson’s engaging historical fantasy suffers from the occasional implausibility and loose end, but its strength lies in the captivating relationship between Jack and Wil. Now there’s real magic.

Sep 152021
 
Photo of author C.L. Polk

Photo credit: Blake Rothwell

World Fantasy Award winner and author of The Midnight Bargain C. L. Polk’s new novella EVEN THOUGH I KNEW THE END, a queer magical noir story set in 1940s Chicago about an exiled augur who spins her magical talents as a P.I. while she counts down her last few days to live; but when she’s offered the chance to reverse her fate in exchange for tracking a dangerous serial killer, she finds herself entangled in celestial affairs far bigger than she ever imagined, to Carl Engle-Laird at Tor.com, by Caitlin McDonald.