Jun 302022
 

Catalan rights to Nebula Award winner Premee Mohamed’s THESE LIFELESS THINGS and AND WHAT CAN WE OFFER YOU TONIGHT, to Chronos, by Amaiur Fernández at International Editors’ Co. in association with Michael Curry.

Hungarian rights to New York Times Bestselling author Jim Butcher’s TURN COAT and CHANGES, books 11 and 12 in the Dresden Files series, to Delta Vision, by Maša Ivanović at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Jun 292022
 

Locus: Premee Mohamed’s And What Can We Offer You Tonight is also a stunning (and Nebula-nominated) example of what short fiction can do…sharp and full of contained fury. Mohamed’s world is a brutal one where people deemed unuseful are culled by the authorities. If you are not fabulously wealthy or serving said one-percenters, you are not likely to live long. That makes Jewel’s job as a high-priced courtesan her literal lifeline. When a fellow sex worker is murdered by a client, then suddenly returns from the dead with nothing left to lose, Jewel is thrust into the mystery. Is solving it worth her own death? The story, however, is only loosely about who the murderer is. Instead, it’s a barely controlled scream about power and abuse that infuriates and satisfies. If this were novel length, it would be overwhelming. But here…Mohamed distills keenly felt emotions into a heady shot.

Jun 282022
 

Hugo Award-winning author Elizabeth Bear concludes her highly-acclaimed epic fantasy trilogy, The Lotus Kingdoms, which began with The Stone in the Skull and The Red-Stained Wings. It all comes to a surprising, satisfying climax in The Origin of Storms!

The Lotus Kingdoms are at war, with four claimants to the sorcerous throne of the Alchemical Emperor fielding three armies between them. Alliances are made, and broken, many times over—but in the end, only one can sit on the throne. And that one must have not only the power, but the rightful claim.

Jun 242022
 

Library Journal: Rachel Morgan has stepped into the role of subrosa for Cincinnati: a role that makes her responsible for all of the supernatural beings in the city, not just herself. Her life is going well, for once: her relationships with her loved ones and allies are firm; demons are starting to respect her (mostly); and her best friend, Ivy Tamwood, is coming home. But with Ivy comes trouble, in the form of a master vampire whose job is to prove that Rachel murdered the city’s master, (which she did not—she just transformed her into a mouse). Hoping for assistance from her new ally, the demon trickster Hodin, Rachel soon discovers that Hodin has his own plans. Adding to the complications, her former teacher Al, the only one who may be able to save Rachel and the rest of the city, would rather see her fail. Harrison’s character and world development is showcased once again with Ivy and Rachel’s relationship; the shadowy Washington, DC, vampire council; and the interplays of hope and horror in the plot.

VERDICT “The Hollows” continues its solid supernatural storytelling, and fans will celebrate the return of its sarcastic witch-born demon.

Jun 232022
 

Photo credit to Anna
Garcia

The MTV Beach House series will have all the elements that make for a perfect summer beach read: friends, parties, romance, sex, and drama. In the first book, THE BREAK-UP VACATION, Grace plans a girls’ trip to Cancun with her two best friends. What her friends don’t know is that her ex-boyfriend is also there, and Grace will do whatever it takes to get him back. Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and The Sex Lives of College Girls, THE BREAK-UP VACATION also thoughtfully explores what it means to date while biracial. Author Anna Gracia makes her adult fiction debut with the novel.

Jun 222022
 

Gianna Lakenauth at Knopf has bought North American rights to Benny Ramírez and the Nearly Departed, pitched as Coco meets It’s a Wonderful Life, plus an untitled second book by José Pablo Iriarte. This magical realism contemporary middle grade tells the story of 12-year-old Cuban American Benny, who must help the ghost of his rich, famous, and morally bankrupt musician grandfather, Ignacio—whose Miami mansion Benny’s family has recently inherited—cross over to the other side before Ignacio’s New Year’s Eve deadline. Publication is slated for spring 2024 and spring 2025, respectively; Kristin Ostby at Greenhouse Literary negotiated the deal on behalf of Working Partners, and Cameron McClure represented the author.

Jun 152022
 

Author of THE CONDUCTORS and THE UNDERTAKERS Nicole Glover’s next two books in the Murder and Magic series, THE IMPROVISERS, set in the 1930s, featuring a pilot (and former bootlegger) whose investigation into cursed enchanted objects finds a murderous tie to her family’s inn, and THE STARSEEKERS, set in the 1960s, about a magic researcher at NASA whose work goes into jeopardy following a workplace accident that is likely a cover for murder, to Jaime Levine at William Morrow for publication under Harper Voyager, by Jennie Goloboy.

Jun 142022
 
Rachel Morgan, witch-born demon, has one unspoken rule: take chances, but pay for them yourself. With it, she has turned enemies into allies, found her place with her demon kin, and stepped up as the subrosa of Cincinnati—responsible for keeping the paranormal community at peace and in line.

Life is . . . good? Even better, her best friend, Ivy Tamwood, is returning home. Nothing’s simple, though, and Ivy’s not coming alone. The vampires’ ruling council insists she escort one of the long undead, hell-bent on proving that Rachel killed Cincy’s master vampire to take over the city. Which, of course, Rachel totally did not do. She only transformed her a little.

With Rachel’s friends distracted by their own lives and problems, she reaches out to a new ally for help—the demon Hodin. But this trickster has his own agenda. In the end, the only way for Rachel to save herself and the city may be to forge a new understanding with her estranged demon teacher, Al. There’s just one problem: Al would sell his own soul to be rid of her. . . .

Jun 022022
 

Congratulations to our DMLA authors for their 2021 Nebula Awards Wins!

Nebula Award for Novella

And What Can We Offer You Tonight, Premee Mohamed (Neon Hemlock)

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

A Snake Falls to Earth, Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)

The award administrators note:
“Author Martha Wells graciously declined her nomination as a novella finalist this year for Fugitive Telemetry: Murderbot Diaries, Book 6, published by Tordotcom. Wells felt that the Murderbot Diaries series has already received incredible praise from her industry peers and wanted to open the floor to highlight other works within the community.”