May 222019
 

Cover of The Only Harmless Great Thing by Brooke Bolander.Congratulations to Brooke Bolander on The Only Harmless Great Thing taking home the 2018 Novelette Nebula Award!

The Only Harmless Great Thing is a heart-wrenching alternative history by Brooke Bolander that imagines an intersection between the Radium Girls and noble, sentient elephants.

In the early years of the 20th century, a group of female factory workers in Newark, New Jersey slowly died of radiation poisoning. Around the same time, an Indian elephant was deliberately put to death by electricity in Coney Island.

These are the facts.

Now these two tragedies are intertwined in a dark alternate history of rage, radioactivity, and injustice crying out to be righted. Prepare yourself for a wrenching journey that crosses eras, chronicling histories of cruelty both grand and petty in search of meaning and justice.

May 212019
 

From the author of Best Day Ever, another gripping novel of psychological suspense set in an upscale Southern California community, for fans of B.A. Paris and Shari Lapena.

The perfect home. The perfect family. The perfect lie.

Jane Harris lives in a sparkling home in an oceanfront gated community in Orange County. It’s a place that seems too beautiful to be touched by sadness. But exactly one year ago, Jane’s oldest daughter, Mary, died in a tragic accident and Jane has been grief-stricken ever since. Lost in a haze of anti-depressants, she’s barely even left the house. Now that’s all about to change.

It’s time for Jane to reclaim her life and her family. Jane’s husband, David, has planned a memorial service for Mary and three days later, their youngest daughter, Betsy, graduates high school. Yet as Jane reemerges into the world, it’s clear her family has changed without her. Her husband has been working long days—and nights—at the office. Her daughter seems distant, even secretive. And her beloved Mary was always such a good girl—dutiful and loving. But does someone know more about Mary, and about her last day, than they’ve revealed?

The bonds between mothers and daughters, and husbands and wives should never be broken. But you never know how far someone will go to keep a family together…

May 212019
 

Photo of Elizabeth BearFrom Hugo-winner Elizabeth Bear (ANCESTRAL NIGHT, KAREN MEMORY), a new edition of the novella “In the House of Aryaman, a Lonely Signal Burns” and an original previously unpublished sequel continuing the Police Sub-Inspector Ferron series to Steve Feldberg at Audible Originals by Jennifer Jackson.

A man has been turned inside-out. Fifty years in the future, in the sleek modern city of Bangalore, a scientist working on revolutionary bioengineering techniques has been discovered inside his own locked home, his body converted into a neat toroidal package of meat. It’s up to Police Sub-Inspector Ferron to unearth the victim’s complicated past and solve the crime, despite the best efforts of the mastermind behind the murder, aliens beaming signals from the Andromeda Galaxy, her overbearing mother, and an adorable parrot-cat who is the only witness.

May 212019
 

“I wasn’t depressed because I was gay. I was depressed and gay.”

Shaun David Hutchinson was nineteen. Confused. Struggling to find the vocabulary to understand and accept who he was and how he fit into a community in which he couldn’t see himself. The voice of depression told him that he would never be loved or wanted, while powerful and hurtful messages from society told him that being gay meant love and happiness weren’t for him.

A million moments large and small over the years all came together to convince Shaun that he couldn’t keep going, that he had no future. And so he followed through on trying to make that a reality.

Thankfully Shaun survived, and over time, came to embrace how grateful he is and how to find self-acceptance. In this courageous and deeply honest memoir, Shaun takes readers through the journey of what brought him to the edge, and what has helped him truly believe that it does get better.

May 202019
 

At auction, Shana Drehs at Sourcebooks acquired world English rights to two novels from Lindsey Rogers Cook, a digital storytelling editor at the New York Times. The first, a debut, How to Bury Your Brother (due out in summer 2020), follows a sister coming to terms with the mystery behind her brother’s baffling disappearance. Katie Shea Boutillier repped the author.

May 172019
 

In 2014, Kim Harrison thought she had concluded her New York Times bestselling Hollows series with its thirteenth installment, THE WITCH WITH NO NAME, leaving fans wanting more. Now, Harrison will return to the series with two brand-new installments continuing Rachel Morgan’s story –AMERICAN DEMON, which will release in summer 2020, and a currently untitled novel that will follow in summer 2021.

The Hollows series is set in alternate United States where humans and supernatural beings exist side-by-side. It began in 2004 with DEAD WITCH WALKING, quickly developing a dedicated fan base and becoming a New York Times and USA Today bestselling series. Ace Books Executive Editor Anne Sowards has acquired the new installments at auction from DMLA’s Vice President Jennifer Jackson.

May 162019
 

Bookpage: Wibberley and Siegemund-Broka’s punchy prose and deft (mis)handling of Shakespeare make for an entertaining read. . . While most of these characters aren’t exactly likable, they are all so complex and thoroughly developed that we can’t help but root for them—and see ourselves in them.

May 152019
 

Cover of Semiosis by Sue Burke.Cover of Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee.Congratulations to our DMLA authors who made the 2019 Arthur C. Clarke Award shortlist!

  • Semiosis by Sue Burke
  • Revenant Gun by Yoon Ha Lee
May 142019
 

Congratulation to our DMLA authors who made the 2019 Locus Awards Finalist list!

SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL
Revenant Gun, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)

HORROR NOVEL
The Listener, Robert McCammon (Cemetery Dance)

FANTASY NOVEL
Foundryside, Robert Jackson Bennett (Crown; Jo Fletcher)
The Monster Baru Cormorant, Seth Dickinson (Tor)
Deep Roots, Ruthanna Emrys (Tor.com Publishing)
Creatures of Want and Ruin, Molly Tanzer (John Joseph Adams)

YOUNG ADULT BOOK
Dread Nation, Justina Ireland (Balzer + Bray)
The Agony House, Cherie Priest & Tara O’Connor (Levine)

FIRST NOVEL
Semiosis, Sue Burke (Tor)
Armed in Her Fashion, Kate Heartfield (ChiZine)
Witchmark, C.L. Polk (Tor.com Publishing)

NOVELLA
Artificial Condition, Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)
Rogue Protocol, Martha Wells (Tor.com Publishing)

NOVELETTE
“Okay, Glory”, Elizabeth Bear (Twelve Tomorrows)
“No Flight Without the Shatter”, Brooke Bolander (Tor.com 8/15/18)
The Only Harmless Great Thing, Brooke Bolander (Tor.com Publishing)

SHORT STORY
“The Starship and the Temple Cat”, Yoon Ha Lee (Beneath Ceaseless Skies 2/1/18)
“Mother of Invention”, Nnedi Okorafor (Future Tense)

COLLECTION
Brief Cases, Jim Butcher (Ace; Orbit UK)

May 102019
 

Library Journal: Meg knows her therapist means well, but any scrutiny is hard to handle when coping with overwhelming anxiety. Even driving a car or going out in public too often is stressful. Luckily, her boyfriend Austin is a help, even though he wears his scars on the outside, owing to the car accident they were both in three years ago. Facing a long teaching semester, Meg takes the chance of befriending guest university instructor Haley. Haley is bright, beautiful, and charismatic, everything Meg wants to be. As Meg warms up to her new friend, finally breaking out of the shell of her anxiety, Austin senses Meg is changing fast and not necessarily for the better. She’s looking for a life of perfection, and it might exist—just not in our reality. The story proceeds at a quick clip, with a huge amount of action in a short time frame and a narrator whom readers will feel for.

VERDICT Harrison (“Hollows” series) presents a twisty blend of psychological suspense and fantasy, blurring the edges of what is real, and to whom.