Apr 212020
 

As a magical revolution remakes a city, an ancient evil is awakened in a brilliant new novel from the Hugo-nominated author of Foundryside and the Divine Cities trilogy.

A few years ago, Sancia Grado would’ve happily watched Tevanne burn. Now, she’s hoping to transform her city into something new. Something better. Together with allies Orso, Gregor, and Berenice, she’s about to strike a deadly blow against Tevanne’s cruel robber-baron rulers and wrest power from their hands for the first time in decades.

But then comes a terrifying warning: Crasedes Magnus himself, the first of the legendary hierophants, is about to be reborn. And if he returns, Tevanne will be just the first place to feel his wrath.

Thousands of years ago, Crasedes was an ordinary man who did the impossible: Using the magic of scriving—the art of imbuing objects with sentience—he convinced reality that he was something more than human. Wielding powers beyond comprehension, he strode the world like a god for centuries, meting out justice and razing empires single-handedly, cleansing the world through fire and destruction—and even defeating death itself.

Like it or not, it’s up to Sancia to stop him. But to have a chance in the battle to come, she’ll have to call upon a god of her own—and unlock the door to a scriving technology that could change what it means to be human. And no matter who wins, nothing will ever be the same.

The awe-inspiring second installment of the Founders Trilogy, Shorefall returns us to the world Robert Jackson Bennett created in his acclaimed Foundryside . . . and forges it anew.

Apr 152020
 

Congratulations to the DMLA authors nominated for the 2020 Hugo Awards!

BEST NOVEL
Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)

BEST RELATED WORK
“2019 John W. Campbell Award Acceptance Speech”, Jeannette Ng (Dublin 2019 ­ An Irish Worldcon)

BEST GRAPHIC STORY OR COMIC
LaGuardia, Nnedi Okorafor, illustrated by Tana Ford, colours by James Devlin (Berger Books/Dark Horse)

BEST SEMIPROZINE
Elsa Sjunneson, as managing editor for Fireside Magazine
S.B. Divya, as co-editor for Escape Pod

LODESTAR for Best Young Adult Book
Dragon Pearl, Yoon Ha Lee (Disney/Hyperion)

Mar 312020
 

Catalan rights to Nnedi Okorafor’s BINTI trilogy, to Raig Verd, by Amaiur Fernandez at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Icelandic rights to Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson’s SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS to Hólmfríður Matthíasdóttir at Forlagið via Jennifer Jackson.

Italian rights to Robert Jackson Bennett’s THE FOUNDERS TRILOGY, to Mondadori, in a three-book deal, by Stefania Fietta at Donzelli Fietta, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Turkish rights to Caitlin Starling’s THE LUMINOUS DEAD, to Epsilon, by Merve Ongen at ONK Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Caitlin McDonald.

Mar 262020
 

Publishers Weekly: The industrialized magic system is intricate and fascinating…, and Bennett’s characterization of the unhinged, all-powerful Crasedes strikes a perfect balance between terror and allure.

Mar 052020
 

Booklist: A compelling, fun, and thought-provoking story for fans of Seanan McGuire, Alma Katsu, and Erin Morgenstern…. a perfect choice for teens, especially those who enjoy dark fantasy with detailed worldbuilding.

Feb 102020
 

Congratulations to our DMLA authors for their appearances on the 2019 Locus Recommended Reading List!

NOVELS – SCIENCE FICTION

Ancestral Night, Elizabeth Bear (Saga; Gollancz)
Escaping Exodus, Nicky Drayden (Harper Voyager US)

NOVELS – FANTASY

The Red-Stained Wings, Elizabeth Bear (Tor)

YOUNG ADULT NOVELS

Dragon Pearl, Yoon Ha Lee (Disney Hyperion)

FIRST NOVELS

Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)
The Luminous Dead, Caitlin Starling (Harper Voyager)

COLLECTIONS

Hexarchate Stories, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US & UK)

NON-FICTION

Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected, Nnedi Okorafor (Simon & Schuster/TED)

ILLUSTRATED AND ART BOOKS

LaGuardia, Nnedi Okorafor (Berger) Donato Giancola

NOVELLAS

“A Time to Reap“, Elizabeth Bear (Uncanny 12/19)
Vigilance, Robert Jackson Bennett (Tor.com Publishing)
Alice Payne Rides, Kate Heartfield (Tor.com Publishing)
“Glass Cannon”, Yoon Ha Lee (Hexarchate Stories)

NOVELETTES

“Erase, Erase, Erase”, Elizabeth Bear (F&SF 9-10/19)
“Binti: Sacred Fire”, Nnedi Okorafor (Binti: The Complete Trilogy)

SHORT STORIES

“Lest We Forget“, Elizabeth Bear (Uncanny 5-6/19)
“A Bird, a Song, a Revolution“, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed 9/19)
“Repatriation“, Nalo Hopkinson (Current Futures)
“Mighty Are the Meek and the Myriad”, Cassandra Khaw (F&SF 7-8/19)

Jan 312020
 

Farsi rights to Martha Wells’ Nebula and Hugo Award-winning The Murderbot Diaries series (ALL SYSTEMS RED, ARTIFICIAL CONDITION, ROGUE PROTOCOL, EXIT STRATEGY, and NETWORK EFFECT), to Porteghal Publishing House, by Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

French rights to Ada Palmer’s THE WILL TO BATTLE, Book 3 of the Terra Ignota series, to du Belial, by Robin Batet at Anna Jarota Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier, for Cameron McClure.

French rights to World Fantasy, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor’s AKATA WARRIOR, to L’ecole des Loisirs, in a two-book deal, by Robin Batet at Anna Jarota Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Russian rights to New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher’s THE AERONAUT’S WINDLASS, the first book in The Cinder Spires series, to Arkadia, by Alexander Korzhenevski at Alexander Korzhenevski Agency in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Jan 302020
 

Kirkus: Well-written, fun, and thoughtful tale of evil Nazi plots, body-snatching behind enemy lines, magical libraries, complicated parental relationships, deep-seated prejudices, and suspicious felines. An enticing genre mashup. Horror, sci-fi, and fantasy readers alike will find something to love and someone to root for.

Dec 312019
 

Chinese rights to Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG, to Xiron, by Gray Tan at The Grayhawk Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier, for Cameron McClure.

Czech rights to New York Times bestselling author Yoon Ha Lee’s REVENANT GUN, the third book in the Machineries of Empire series, to Host, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Hungarian rights to USA Today bestselling author Tamsyn Muir’s GIDEON THE NINTH, the first book in the Locked Tomb trilogy, to Fumax, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Israeli rights to Skye Warren’s THE KNIGHT and THE CASTLE, to Sifrut Shenogaat, by Beverley Levit at The Israeli Association Of Book Publishers Ltd., on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Russian rights to Donald Maass’s WRITING THE BREAKOUT NOVEL and THE FIRE IN FICTION, to Azbooka-Atticus, by Alexander Korzhenevski Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Turkish rights to Robert Sheckley’s Immortality Inc. and Status Civilization, to Ithaki, in a two-book deal, by Merve Ongen at ONK Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Polish audio rights to NYT bestselling author Jim Butcher’s CHANGES, GHOST STORY, COLD DAYS, and SKIN GAME, to Storytel, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi in association with Michael Curry on behalf of Jennifer Jackson.