Sep 202021
Photo of author C.L. Polk

Photo credit: Blake Rothwell

C.L. Polk’s award-winning Kingston Cycle—WitchmarkStormsong, and Soulstar—is coming to television. 1212 Entertainment has acquired the rights to the series, and has tapped Alyssa Clark (Teen WolfDominionServantThe 100) to pen the screenplay.

Polk’s debut novel, Witchmark won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel in 2019, and was a finalist for that year’s Aurora, Locus, Nebula, and Lambda awards.

Sep 172021

Sturgeon Award finalist Vajra Chandrasekera’s debut THE SAINT OF BRIGHT DOORS, a richly imagined postcolonial fantasy meeting at the point between THE NAME OF THE WIND and THE GOD OF SMALL THINGS, set in an unsane metropolis brimming with history that is on the verge of eruption, to Carl Engle-Laird at, in a six-figure deal, in a three-book deal, for publication in winter 2023, by Michael Curry (world English).

Sep 152021
Photo of author C.L. Polk

Photo credit: Blake Rothwell

World Fantasy Award winner and author of The Midnight Bargain C. L. Polk’s new novella EVEN THOUGH I KNEW THE END, a queer magical noir story set in 1940s Chicago about an exiled augur who spins her magical talents as a P.I. while she counts down her last few days to live; but when she’s offered the chance to reverse her fate in exchange for tracking a dangerous serial killer, she finds herself entangled in celestial affairs far bigger than she ever imagined, to Carl Engle-Laird at, by Caitlin McDonald.

Sep 082021

Author of the Tufa Series, Alex Bledsoe’s DANDELION, in which a former marine with the ability to cast out demons tries to help a woman who had a botched exorcism, only to discover that there are other, more powerful demons in town, to John G. Hartness at Falstaff Books by Paul E. Stevens.

Aug 062021

New York Times bestselling author Tamysn Muir will expand her Locked Tomb series with an additional volume, NONA THE NINTH.

Continuing the Locked Tomb series, which began with 2019’s Gideon the Ninth and followed with 2020’s Harrow the Ninth, the new book will publish in Fall 2022, with Alecto the Ninth to follow in Fall 2023. Tordotcom Publishing, an imprint of Macmillan under Tom Doherty Associates, acquired English language rights in a six-figure deal with Jennifer Jackson.

Jul 132021

Debut author Mia Tsai’s BITTER MEDICINE, pitched as a xianxia-inspired contemporary fantasy about a magical temp agency calligrapher who becomes involved with one of her clients and must embrace her powers in order to battle in a deadly family feud, to Jacob Weisman at Tachyon Publications, with Jaymee Goh editing by Anne Tibbets.

Jul 012021

W.A. Simpson’s TINDERBOX, a high fantasy about a Black witch out for revenge, and a kidnapped prince fighting to return home, as they team up against a dark fey sorcerer, to Don D’Auria at Flame Tree Press by Anne Tibbets.

Jun 162021

Ruby Barrett returns to the universe of HOT COPY in WHILE IT’S HOT, in which restaurant owner Amy Chambers hires a former fan favorite reality TV chef to save her struggling kitchen, only to discover that the talented, yet enigmatic woman seems determined to undermine her authority at every turn—but when fire spreads from the kitchen to the bedroom they’re forced to reckon with their growing attraction before they lose everything, world English rights to Stephanie Doig at Carina Adores, by Kiana Nguyen.

Jun 152021

In a preemptive bid, Aaron Kaplan’s Kapital Entertainment has landed the rights to I Don’t Forgive You, the upcoming debut novel of former police reporter Aggie Blum Thompson.

The book will be adapted into a TV series for cable/streaming, which Kaplan will executive produce with Mandalay’s Peter Guber, a longtime friend and former client at WMA.

A psychological thriller with a female lead, I Don’t Forgive You is about a photographer struggling to fit in among the mom cliques in her new D.C. suburb when she is framed for a neighbor’s murder and must frantically try to uncover who is destroying her life by impersonating her on social media.

Jun 072021

Locus and Aurora Award finalist Premee Mohamed’s THE VOID ASCENDANT, the highly anticipated conclusion to the Beneath the Rising trilogy, and an additional novel, to David Moore at Solaris Books, for publication in Spring 2022, by Michael Curry.