Jan 182021
 

Author of BENEATH THE RISING Premee Mohamed’s AND WHAT CAN WE OFFER YOU TONIGHT, a story of murder and vengeance in a city where anyone without a valid employment wristband can legally be hunted and killed by the government, to Dave Ring at Neon Hemlock, for publication in summer 2021, by Michael Curry.

Dec 212020
 

New York Times bestselling author Anne Bishop, sold a new novel set in her “World of the Others” series, following the characters of Vicki DeVine, who runs a rustic inn, and her friend Aggie Crowe, one of the shape-shifting Others, for publication in Spring 2022, and a second untitled fantasy novel. World English and audio rights were acquired by Ace Executive Editor Anne Sowards via Jennifer Jackson.

Dec 092020
 

Author of ELATSOE Darcie Little Badger’s A SNAKE FALLS TO EARTH, a tale influenced by traditional Lipan Apache storytelling structure about a girl from Earth and a Cottonmouth kid from the land of spirits and monsters who agree to help each other save their families, to Nick Thomas at Levine Querido, for publication in fall 2021, by Michael Curry.

Dec 022020
 

APhoto of author Les Klinger second volume, following Weird Women: Classic Supernatural Fiction by Groundbreaking Female Writers: 1852-1923,of eerie and supernatural stories by women precursors of today’s horror writers, including George Elliot and Edith Wharton, edited by Leslie S. Klinger and Lisa Morton, acquired by Claiborne Hancock, Pegasus Books, via Donald Maass.

Nov 242020
 

Author of MILLICENT GLENN’S LAST WISH Tori Whitaker’s THE WOMEN OF BOND HOUSE, a dual timeline story of two women related by blood—one in Prohibition-era Detroit and the other in modern-day Kentucky—and three things that bond them together: a bourbon distillery, a red 1923 sports car, and the first’s diary that changes the other’s life forever, to Chris Werner at Lake Union Publishing, in an exclusive submission, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Nov 232020
 

credit: Debra Wilburn

Author of the Nebula- and Locus-nominated AMBERLOUGH series Lara Elena Donnelly’s new novel BASE NOTES, in which twenty-something perfumier Vic Fowler has built a deadly side-hustle to cope with the crushing demands of late capitalism; but when a wealthy client threatens to bring it all down, Vic hatches a plan to manipulate a trio of similarly overworked, disillusioned millennials to commit murder in their stead, to Gracie Doyle at Thomas & Mercer, for publication in early 2022, by Caitlin McDonald.

Nov 192020
 
Richard Kadrey and Cassandra Khaw’s THE DEAD TAKE THE A TRAIN, a fast-paced dark fantasy about a freelance psychic operative tracking an ever-morphing supernatural serial killer in New York City, as well as a second untitled book, to Diana Gill at Nightfire (with Kelly Lonesome editing), for publication in Summer 2022 and Summer 2023, by Ginger Clark at Curtis Brown for Kadrey and by Michael Curry for Khaw.

 

Oct 302020
 

Ronald MalfiBram Stoker Finalist for FLOATING STAIRCASE, named as one of the 50 scariest novels by the New York Times, Ronald Malfi’s COME WITH ME, psychological suspense in the vein of Lauren Beukes and Paul Tremblay, about a man who after the sudden death of his wife learns that she had been secretly tracking a killer and vows to complete her work, even as every step forward takes him further away from the woman he thought he knew, to Sophie Robinson at Titan Books, in a two-book deal, for publication in July 2021, by Cameron McClure (world English).

Oct 272020
 

New York Times bestselling author of the Locked Tomb Trilogy Tamysn Muir has signed a six-figure deal with Tordotcom Publishing, an imprint of Macmillan under Tom Doherty Associates.

Beginning with GO MARCHING IN, the first in a post-cyberpunk novella trilogy about a gunslinger pulled out of retirement among those left behind on a dying Earth as the rich flee on their generation ships, Carl Engle-Laird acquired World English rights to a trilogy of novellas as well as two additional novels in different settings via Jennifer Jackson.

Oct 262020
 
Photo of author Dan KoboldtGeneticist and editor of PUTTING THE SCIENCE IN FICTION, Dan Koboldt to edit PUTTING THE FACT IN FANTASY: Advice from Experts to Bring Authenticity to Your Fantasy Writing, a collection of essays from historians, linguists, martial artists, and other experts to help authors write more compelling fiction by getting the facts right, to Writer’s Digest Books for publication in Spring 2022, by Paul Stevens.