May 012017
 

Julian Pavia at Crown has pre-empted world rights to Jonathan French’s THE GREY BASTARDS, winner of Mark Lawrence’s 2016 Self-Published Fantasy Blog-Off contest, plus a sequel. A raunchy and swashbuckling fantasy novel in the vein of Scott Lynch and Mark Lawrence, THE GREY BASTARDS is about Jackal, a half-orc ekeing out a hard existence in the wastelands, his roving band of brothers the only thing keeping the soft cities safe from an invasion of full blooded orcs. Or so Jackal believes. When he discovers the true threat, he must decide where his loyalties lie. Cameron McClure at the Donald Maass Agency brokered the deal for Jonathan French, publication for THE GREY BASTARDS is planned for summer 2018.

Apr 262017
 

Photo of author Yoon Ha Lee.Stephanie Lurie and Rick Riordan have acquired Hugo and Nebula Award nominee Yoon Ha Lee’s Dragon Pearl. In this standalone middle grade novel, Lee draws on his Korean heritage to tell the story of Min, a teenage fox spirit whose brother is missing and thought to have deserted the Thousand Worlds Space Forces in order to find the pearl of the title, an artifact that may have the power to save their struggling space colony. Jennifer Jackson brokered the deal for Lee as one of three authors to launch the list of the new Rick Riordan Presents imprint at Disney Hyperion.

Apr 142017
 

Photo of author Susan R. MatthewsSusan R. Matthews’ CRIMES AGAINST HUMANITY, the eighth novel in the Philip K. Dick Award nominated Jurisdiction Universe series that begain with Exchange of Hostages, to Tony Daniel at Baen Books by Jennifer Jackson.

Apr 102017
 

Kristen Pettit at Harper Teen, with Catherine Wallace editing, has bought Reel One Entertainment and screenwriter Christine Conradt’s MISSING AT 17, the first novelization of the “at 17” TV movie series executive produced by Pierre David and Tom Berry released on Lifetime, about a teen who runs away after finding out she is adopted and right into the arms of an irresistible bad boy who draws her into his dangerous world. Publication is set for trade paperback release during the Summer 2018 season; Katie Shea Boutillier at Donald Maass Literary Agency and Ken Sherman at Ken Sherman & Associates negotiated the six-figure, three-book deal for North American rights.

Feb 142017
 

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s three new novels in the epic Liaden series, to Toni Weisskopf at Baen in a six-figure deal by Jennifer Jackson.

Feb 032017
 

Photo of author Amanda DownumAmanda Downum’s STILL SO STRANGE, collecting together her short fiction and including a previously unpublished story, to Sandra Kasturi at ChiZine Publications by Jennifer Jackson.

Feb 012017
 

Photo of authors Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily WibberleyDana Leydig at Puffin has acquired Austin Siegemund-Broka and Emily Wibberley’s UPSTAGED, pitched as a modern-day retelling of Romeo & Juliet, about a teen girl who always winds up playing the Rosaline in her off-stage relationships—the girl before he finds “the one”—but when cast as Juliet in her school play she begins to notice the Romeo she never expected. Publication is scheduled for Summer 2018; Katie Shea Boutillier of Donald Maass Literary Agency brokered the deal for world English rights.

Jan 242017
 

photo of author Ada HarperAda Harper’s A CONSPIRACY OF WHISPERS, a twist on an alpha/omega-style romance set in a world where fertility is a rare and valuable genetic trait, and assassin Olivia Shaw must keep her status as an undocumented fertile woman a secret from the noble who hired her, to Angela James at Carina Press, in a two-book deal, by Caitlin McDonald.

Jan 112017
 

Photo of author Jo Ann Brown.In an eight book deal, Jo Ann Ferguson, writing as Jo Ann Brown, will finish her Amish Hearts series which began with AMISH HOMECOMING in 2016, and then launch a spin-off series called Harmony Creek, acquired by Tina James at Harlequin Love Inspired via Jennifer Jackson.

Jan 102017
 
Photo of author C.L. Polk

Photo credit: Blake Rothwell

C.L. Polk’s debut fantasy novel WITCHMARK, in which a doctor returned from a recent war has faked his death to work at a cash-strapped veteran’s hospital, but when a fatally poisoned patient exposes his secret healing powers to a witness, he must put his anonymity and freedom at risk to investigate his patient’s murder, plus an untitled sequel, to Carl Engle-Laird at Tor.com, by Caitlin McDonald.