Apr 182018
 
Author photo of Kate Heartfield.

Photo courtesy of John W. MacDonald.

ARMED IN HER FASHION and THE HUMOURS OF GRUB STREET author Kate Heartfield’s ALICE PAYNE ARRIVES and ALICE PAYNE RIDES, about a daring veteran’s daughter in 1780s England who, along with her scientist girlfriend, is recruited into the century-spanning History War, to Lee Harris at Tor.com, for publication in late 2018 and Spring 2019, negotiated by Jennie Goloboy.

Apr 172018
 

photo of author Shaun David HutchinsonWE ARE THE ANTS author Shaun David Hutshinson’s BRAVE FACE, known for his fiction relating to mental health issues, he will explore his personal struggles with depression and suicide in this memoir for teens, to Liesa Abrams at Simon Pulse, for publication Summer 2019, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Here are Shaun’s own words on his memoir BRAVE FACE.

Apr 122018
 

Author photo of Sean Grisby.Sean Grigsby’s DAUGHTERS OF FORGOTTEN LIGHT, pitched as Bitch Planet meets Escape from New York, when a baby is smuggled into a deep-space penal colony the leader of a fierce prison gang risks her life to save it from rival gangs and return it to Earth, plus ASH KICKERS (sequel to SMOKE EATERS), sold to Phil Jourdan at Angry Robot, in a two-book deal, for publication in Fall 2018, by Paul Stevens.

Apr 062018
 

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Constellation 4, a new volume collecting recent short stories set in their nationally best-selling Liaden Universe ® series, to Toni Weisskopf at Baen Books by Jennifer Jackson.

Apr 042018
 

Author photo of Troy Bucher.Troy Bucher’s THE FALLEN GODS’ WAR trilogy, a coming of age, epic fantasy series, in which two characters must bridge opposing cultures to stop a pair of long-dead gods from returning to destroy their homeland, to Sheila Gilbert at DAW, by Jennie Goloboy.

Mar 282018
 
Author photo of Crystal Duffy.

Photo credit: Bianca Zaragoza.

Crystal Duffy’s TWIN TO TWIN, the story of a 29-year-old mother’s harrowing yet heartwarming adventure through a high-risk twin pregnancy to Chris McKenney at Mango, for publication in Fall 2018, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Mar 262018
 

Author photo of Tamsyn Muir.From debut author, Tamsyn Muir, the Ninth House trilogy (GIDEON THE NINTH, HARROW THE NINTH, and ALECTO THE NINTH), an epic science fantasy that blends necromantic theory and thrilling swordplay with a wicked, sacrilegious sense of humor; a modern mix of Dune, Riddick, and Gormenghast.

Tamsyn’s works have appeared in Nightmare Magazine, F&SF, Fantasy Magazine, Weird Tales, and Clarkesworld. Her fiction has received nominations for the Nebula Award, the Shirley Jackson Award, the World Fantasy Award and the Eugie Foster Memorial Award.

The Ninth House trilogy was acquired by Carl Engle-Laird at Tor.com in a three-book deal, negotiated by Tamsyn Muir’s agent Jennifer Jackson. The first book, GIDEON THE NINTH, is expected to publish in late 2019.

Mar 162018
 

photo of author Nicky Drayden.Author of THE PREY OF GODS and the forthcoming TEMPER, Nicky Drayden’s ESCAPING EXODUS, the story of young Seske Kaleigh, heir to the command of a biological, city-size starship carved up from the insides of a spacefaring beast, and what happens when she makes a discovery that will change her understanding of her world and her people, and a second untitled novel, to David Pomerico at HarperVoyager by Jennifer Jackson.

Feb 162018
 

From debut author Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson, SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS, a strikingly original Icelandic debut set in a strangely familiar alternate Reykjavík where wild and industrialised magic meet. Perfect for fans of China Miéville, Lev Grossman and Paulo Bacigalupi, this is a strange and wonderful tale of damaged characters forging a revolution against an oppressive government.

Author Dan Vilhjálmsson, who lives in Reykjavík, writes in both Icelandic and English, translating back and forth as necessary, and is the founder and editor of SFF magazine, Furðusögur (Weird Stories).

Editor Craig Leyenaar at Gollancz acquired the first and second novels in the Hrimland Saga via Jennifer Jackson.

Feb 132018
 

Author photo of Georgina Kamsika.Georgina Kamsika’s GODDESS OF THE NORTH, an #OwnVoices contemporary fantasy about a bright young police detective who is secretly the Hindu goddess Saraswathi, who must solve a murder with repercussions in both the human world and the world of the gods, to Ashley Rugirello at Reuts by Jennie Goloboy.