May 252022 It’s no small achievement to tell a compelling story across the three books of a trilogy. That’s challenge enough, but for a handful of writers, simply doing that isn’t quite enough. I can think of a handful of examples of this, which takes the already-difficult task of following a novel with a sequel done in a new genre and further complicates things. Jeff VanderMeer’s done it twice, with the Southern Reach and Ambergris trilogies.And having read Premee Mohamed’s The Void Ascendant, I can confirm that she’s pulled it off as well with her Beneath the Rising trilogy.

Titles are funny things, and The Void Ascendant might well have the most inaccurate title imaginable. This is a maximalist narrative, with Mohamed throwing both knowing pop culture references and thematically-resonant explorations of trust, forgiveness, and justice into the mix. This is a book, and a trilogy, that can encompass entire genres in thoroughly unexpected ways. And it brings a memorable and accomplished trilogy to a close with aplomb.

May 182022

Congratulations to all our DMLA authors chosen as 2022 Locus Awards Top Ten Finalists!

Noor, Nnedi Okorafor (DAW)

The Witness for the Dead, Katherine Addison (Tor; Solaris)

A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
The Death of Jane Lawrence, Caitlin Starling (St. Martin’s)

A Snake Falls to Earth, Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)

Machinehood, S.B. Divya (Saga)
The All-Consuming World, Cassandra Khaw (Erewhon)

A Blessing of Unicorns, Elizabeth Bear (Audible Originals 10/20; Asimov’s 9-10/21)
Remote Control, Nnedi Okorafor (Tordotcom)
Fugitive Telemetry, Martha Wells (Tordotcom)

“The Red Mother“, Elizabeth Bear ( 6/23/21)
“Broad Dutty Water: A Sunken Story”, Nalo Hopkinson (F&SF 11-12/21)
“The Black Pages“, Nnedi Okorafor (Black Stars)

“Proof by Induction“, José Pablo Iriarte (Uncanny 5-6/21)

May 102022

The mindblowing, cosmic conclusion to the breakout Beneath the Rising trilogy.


Seven years ago, the last survivor of Earth crashed through uncountable dimensions to a strange new world. Nick Prasad found shelter, and a living, as a prophet for the ruling family—servants of the Ancient Ones who destroyed his home.

Now, he’s been offered a chance to rid the multiverse of the Ancient Ones, past and present and forever, although he’ll have to betray his new masters to do it.

The first step is jailbreaking a god—and that’s the easy part…

Apr 282022

Congratulations to all our DMLA authors who were chosen as 2022 Igynte Awards Finalists!

Best Novel: Young Adult
A Snake Falls To Earth – Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)

Best Novella
Nothing But Blackened Teeth – Cassandra Khaw (Tor Nightfire)

Best Novelette
“The Music of the Siphorophenes” – CL Polk (The Magazine of Fantasy and Science Fiction)

Best Comics Team
Abbott: 1973 – Saladin Ahmed (writer) (Boom! Studios)

The Ember Award (for unsung contributions to genre)
Tananarive Due

Apr 202022

Congratulations to all our DMLA writers have been nominated for the 2022 Aurora Awards!

Best Novel

  • A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • Soulstar, C.L. Polk (Tordotcom)

Best Novelette/Novella

  • The Annual Migration of Clouds, Premee Mohamed (ECW)
  • These Lifeless Things, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
Apr 142022

Congratulations to all our DMLA authors who have been selected as 2022 Hugo Award Finalists.


The Kingston Cycle, by C. L. Polk (Tordotcom)
Terra Ignota, by Ada Palmer (Tor Books)


“Proof by Induction”, by José Pablo Iriarte (Uncanny Magazine, May/Jun 2021)


S.B. Divya as editor and Premee Mohamed as assistant editor from the Escape Pod team


A Snake Falls to Earth, by Darcie Little Badger (Levine Querido)


Micaiah Johnson (2nd year of eligibility)

Apr 062022

Author of THE ANNUAL MIGRATION OF CLOUDS Premee Mohamed’s NO ONE WILL COME BACK FOR US, their first collection of short fiction, to Michael Kelly at Undertow Publications, for publication in May 2023, by Michael Curry

Mar 302022

Nebula Award-nominated author Premee Mohamed’s WE SPOKE THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN and THE FIRST THOUSAND TREES, two novellas continuing the stories of Reid and Henryk from THE ANNUAL MIGRATION OF CLOUDS, to Jen Albert at ECW Press for publication in 2023 and 2024 by Michael Curry.

Mar 232022

Publishers Weekly: Mohamed’s stunning finale to her Beneath the Rising cosmic-horror trilogy (after A Broken Darkness) reunites readers with Nick Prasad following the implosion of his former friend Joanna “Johnny” Chambers’s last-ditch plan to save the Earth from the Ancient Ones. Thrown through dimensions, Nick lands on a faraway planet that did not resist the Ancient Ones’ dominion, where he’s treated as a divinely ordained prophet. Then the planet’s royals capture a strange chimeric creature trying to steal information from their archives—and it turns out to be Johnny, or most of her. She abducts Nick to help her execute her most ambitious plan yet: to release the Elder Gods that the Ancient Ones overthrew and imprisoned in hopes these old enemies will destroy each other. Can Nick trust Johnny’s unparalleled genius and magic to defeat the Ancient Ones at last, while knowing that in the wrong hands, she’s a weapon powerful enough to cause the destruction of every dimension left? Mohamed sends her characters careening through a multiverse of astonishing worlds, all lushly described and often unforgettably creepy, and holds them together with an intricate plot and gripping emotional tension. It’s a mind-bending and thoroughly satisfying conclusion to a truly singular series.