Jun 232022
 

Photo credit to Anna
Garcia

The MTV Beach House series will have all the elements that make for a perfect summer beach read: friends, parties, romance, sex, and drama. In the first book, THE BREAK-UP VACATION, Grace plans a girls’ trip to Cancun with her two best friends. What her friends don’t know is that her ex-boyfriend is also there, and Grace will do whatever it takes to get him back. Perfect for fans of Casey McQuiston and The Sex Lives of College Girls, THE BREAK-UP VACATION also thoughtfully explores what it means to date while biracial. Author Anna Gracia makes her adult fiction debut with the novel.

Jun 222022
 

Gianna Lakenauth at Knopf has bought North American rights to Benny Ramírez and the Nearly Departed, pitched as Coco meets It’s a Wonderful Life, plus an untitled second book by José Pablo Iriarte. This magical realism contemporary middle grade tells the story of 12-year-old Cuban American Benny, who must help the ghost of his rich, famous, and morally bankrupt musician grandfather, Ignacio—whose Miami mansion Benny’s family has recently inherited—cross over to the other side before Ignacio’s New Year’s Eve deadline. Publication is slated for spring 2024 and spring 2025, respectively; Kristin Ostby at Greenhouse Literary negotiated the deal on behalf of Working Partners, and Cameron McClure represented the author.

Jun 152022
 

Author of THE CONDUCTORS and THE UNDERTAKERS Nicole Glover’s next two books in the Murder and Magic series, THE IMPROVISERS, set in the 1930s, featuring a pilot (and former bootlegger) whose investigation into cursed enchanted objects finds a murderous tie to her family’s inn, and THE STARSEEKERS, set in the 1960s, about a magic researcher at NASA whose work goes into jeopardy following a workplace accident that is likely a cover for murder, to Jaime Levine at William Morrow for publication under Harper Voyager, by Jennie Goloboy.

May 052022
 

P.C. Hodgell sold rights to the 11th novel in the Kencyrath series to Toni Weisskopf at Baen Books via Jennifer Jackson. Per the author, this sequel to Deathless Gods (coming from Baen this October), will wrap up many lingering storylines, and is possibly the final volume in the long-running tale, begun in God Stalk, of Jamethiel and the Highborn.

Apr 082022
 

Iori Kusano’s novella HYBRID HEART has been acquired by dave ring at Neon Hemlock in a World English deal via Jennifer Jackson. Rei is a pop idol in near future Japan with middling success trying to push forward in her solo career despite competition from Vocaloid-style digital singers. Haunted by both guilt and the insidious manipulations of a controlling talent manager, Rei is forced to question what parts of herself—and those around her—she will sacrifice on the path to success. Neon Hemlock will publish in their 2023 novella series.

Apr 062022
 

Author of THE ANNUAL MIGRATION OF CLOUDS Premee Mohamed’s NO ONE WILL COME BACK FOR US, their first collection of short fiction, to Michael Kelly at Undertow Publications, for publication in May 2023, by Michael Curry

Apr 012022
 

Photo credit to Anna
Garcia

Author of the forthcoming BOYS I KNOW Anna Gracia’s MISDIRECTION OF FAULT LINES, pitched as a tennis version of Center Stage, following three Asian American teen girls—the underdog, the social media darling, and the defiant ex-friend—from different cultural and socioeconomic backgrounds who compete against each other at an elite tennis summer camp and discover they’re not so different after all, to Ashley Hearn at Peachtree Teen, in a nice deal, for publication in spring 2024, by Kiana Nguyen.

Mar 302022
 

Nebula Award-nominated author Premee Mohamed’s WE SPOKE THROUGH THE MOUNTAIN and THE FIRST THOUSAND TREES, two novellas continuing the stories of Reid and Henryk from THE ANNUAL MIGRATION OF CLOUDS, to Jen Albert at ECW Press for publication in 2023 and 2024 by Michael Curry.

Mar 182022
 

Sharon Lee (left) and Steve Miller (right)

Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s next three novels in the epic Liaden Universe ® series, to Toni Weisskopf at Baen in a six-figure deal by Jennifer Jackson.