Nov 242020
 

Author of MILLICENT GLENN’S LAST WISH Tori Whitaker’s THE WOMEN OF BOND HOUSE, a dual timeline story of two women related by blood—one in Prohibition-era Detroit and the other in modern-day Kentucky—and three things that bond them together: a bourbon distillery, a red 1923 sports car, and the first’s diary that changes the other’s life forever, to Chris Werner at Lake Union Publishing, in an exclusive submission, by Katie Shea Boutillier.

Nov 232020
 

credit: Debra Wilburn

Author of the Nebula- and Locus-nominated AMBERLOUGH series Lara Elena Donnelly’s new novel BASE NOTES, in which twenty-something perfumier Vic Fowler has built a deadly side-hustle to cope with the crushing demands of late capitalism; but when a wealthy client threatens to bring it all down, Vic hatches a plan to manipulate a trio of similarly overworked, disillusioned millennials to commit murder in their stead, to Gracie Doyle at Thomas & Mercer, for publication in early 2022, by Caitlin McDonald.

Nov 192020
 
Richard Kadrey and Cassandra Khaw’s THE DEAD TAKE THE A TRAIN, a fast-paced dark fantasy about a freelance psychic operative tracking an ever-morphing supernatural serial killer in New York City, as well as a second untitled book, to Diana Gill at Nightfire (with Kelly Lonesome editing), for publication in Summer 2022 and Summer 2023, by Ginger Clark at Curtis Brown for Kadrey and by Michael Curry for Khaw.

 

Oct 302020
 

Ronald MalfiBram Stoker Finalist for FLOATING STAIRCASE, named as one of the 50 scariest novels by the New York Times, Ronald Malfi’s COME WITH ME, psychological suspense in the vein of Lauren Beukes and Paul Tremblay, about a man who after the sudden death of his wife learns that she had been secretly tracking a killer and vows to complete her work, even as every step forward takes him further away from the woman he thought he knew, to Sophie Robinson at Titan Books, in a two-book deal, for publication in July 2021, by Cameron McClure (world English).

Oct 272020
 

New York Times bestselling author of the Locked Tomb Trilogy Tamysn Muir has signed a six-figure deal with Tordotcom Publishing, an imprint of Macmillan under Tom Doherty Associates.

Beginning with GO MARCHING IN, the first in a post-cyberpunk novella trilogy about a gunslinger pulled out of retirement among those left behind on a dying Earth as the rich flee on their generation ships, Carl Engle-Laird acquired World English rights to a trilogy of novellas as well as two additional novels in different settings via Jennifer Jackson.

Oct 262020
 
Photo of author Dan KoboldtGeneticist and editor of PUTTING THE SCIENCE IN FICTION, Dan Koboldt to edit PUTTING THE FACT IN FANTASY: Advice from Experts to Bring Authenticity to Your Fantasy Writing, a collection of essays from historians, linguists, martial artists, and other experts to help authors write more compelling fiction by getting the facts right, to Writer’s Digest Books for publication in Spring 2022, by Paul Stevens.
Oct 212020
 

BOOM! Studios announced JIM HENSON’S LABYRINTH: MASQUERADE #1, a brand new oversized one-shot issue starring the strange and wondrous characters of Jim Henson’s beloved fantasy classic Labyrinth, from multi-award-nominated author Lara Elena Donnelly (Amberlough), artists French Carlomagno (The Dark Crystal: Age of Resistance), Samantha Dodge (Catwoman: Soulstealer), and Pius Bak (The Magicians: Alice’s Story), available in December 2020.

Sep 282020
 

Locus and British Fantasy Award nominee Cassandra Khaw’s debut novel THE ALL-CONSUMING WORLD, about a diverse team of former criminals who get back together to rescue a missing comrade and solve the mystery of their last, disastrous mission while battling their own traumas and a universe of sapient AI ageships who want them dead, to Sarah Guan at Erewhon, by Michael Curry.

Sep 232020
 

Author photo of Leanna Renee Hieber.Leanna Renee Hieber, author of The Spectral City, joins with Andrea Janes, owner of NYC historical tour company Boroughs of the Dead, and Elizabeth Kerri Mahon, author of Scandalous Women, to write A HAUNTED HISTORY OF INVISIBLE WOMEN, an exploration of ghostly tropes, examining haunted places where women’s narratives are centered, with a foreword by Stoker Award-winner Linda D. Addison. Acquired by Elizabeth May at Kensington, by Paul Stevens.

Sep 092020
 

photo of author Shaun David HutchinsonDavid Linker at HarperCollins has acquired, in an exclusive submission, Before We Disappear by Shaun David Hutchinson (We Are the Ants), a historical fantasy set during the 1909 Alaska–Yukon–Pacific Exposition in Seattle. Jack, an orphan and magician’s assistant, spies on their rivals to steal secrets of their magic tricks to find that the other magician’s assistant, Wil, can perform real magic. This truth will result in death, so Jack and Wil face the ultimate choice to trust one another or vanish from it all. Publication is set for fall 2021; Katie Shea Boutillier did the deal for world English rights.