Mar 312020
 

Catalan rights to Nnedi Okorafor’s BINTI trilogy, to Raig Verd, by Amaiur Fernandez at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Icelandic rights to Alexander Dan Vilhjálmsson’s SHADOWS OF THE SHORT DAYS to Hólmfríður Matthíasdóttir at Forlagið via Jennifer Jackson.

Italian rights to Robert Jackson Bennett’s THE FOUNDERS TRILOGY, to Mondadori, in a three-book deal, by Stefania Fietta at Donzelli Fietta, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Turkish rights to Caitlin Starling’s THE LUMINOUS DEAD, to Epsilon, by Merve Ongen at ONK Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Caitlin McDonald.

Mar 262020
 

Publishers Weekly: The industrialized magic system is intricate and fascinating…, and Bennett’s characterization of the unhinged, all-powerful Crasedes strikes a perfect balance between terror and allure.

Mar 052020
 

Booklist: A compelling, fun, and thought-provoking story for fans of Seanan McGuire, Alma Katsu, and Erin Morgenstern…. a perfect choice for teens, especially those who enjoy dark fantasy with detailed worldbuilding.

Feb 102020
 

Congratulations to our DMLA authors for their appearances on the 2019 Locus Recommended Reading List!

NOVELS – SCIENCE FICTION

Ancestral Night, Elizabeth Bear (Saga; Gollancz)
Escaping Exodus, Nicky Drayden (Harper Voyager US)

NOVELS – FANTASY

The Red-Stained Wings, Elizabeth Bear (Tor)

YOUNG ADULT NOVELS

Dragon Pearl, Yoon Ha Lee (Disney Hyperion)

FIRST NOVELS

Gideon the Ninth, Tamsyn Muir (Tor.com Publishing)
The Luminous Dead, Caitlin Starling (Harper Voyager)

COLLECTIONS

Hexarchate Stories, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US & UK)

NON-FICTION

Broken Places & Outer Spaces: Finding Creativity in the Unexpected, Nnedi Okorafor (Simon & Schuster/TED)

ILLUSTRATED AND ART BOOKS

LaGuardia, Nnedi Okorafor (Berger) Donato Giancola

NOVELLAS

“A Time to Reap“, Elizabeth Bear (Uncanny 12/19)
Vigilance, Robert Jackson Bennett (Tor.com Publishing)
Alice Payne Rides, Kate Heartfield (Tor.com Publishing)
“Glass Cannon”, Yoon Ha Lee (Hexarchate Stories)

NOVELETTES

“Erase, Erase, Erase”, Elizabeth Bear (F&SF 9-10/19)
“Binti: Sacred Fire”, Nnedi Okorafor (Binti: The Complete Trilogy)

SHORT STORIES

“Lest We Forget“, Elizabeth Bear (Uncanny 5-6/19)
“A Bird, a Song, a Revolution“, Brooke Bolander (Lightspeed 9/19)
“Repatriation“, Nalo Hopkinson (Current Futures)
“Mighty Are the Meek and the Myriad”, Cassandra Khaw (F&SF 7-8/19)

Jan 312020
 

Farsi rights to Martha Wells’ Nebula and Hugo Award-winning The Murderbot Diaries series (ALL SYSTEMS RED, ARTIFICIAL CONDITION, ROGUE PROTOCOL, EXIT STRATEGY, and NETWORK EFFECT), to Porteghal Publishing House, by Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

French rights to Ada Palmer’s THE WILL TO BATTLE, Book 3 of the Terra Ignota series, to du Belial, by Robin Batet at Anna Jarota Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier, for Cameron McClure.

French rights to World Fantasy, Hugo and Nebula award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor’s AKATA WARRIOR, to L’ecole des Loisirs, in a two-book deal, by Robin Batet at Anna Jarota Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Russian rights to New York Times bestselling author Jim Butcher’s THE AERONAUT’S WINDLASS, the first book in The Cinder Spires series, to Arkadia, by Alexander Korzhenevski at Alexander Korzhenevski Agency in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Jan 302020
 

Kirkus: Well-written, fun, and thoughtful tale of evil Nazi plots, body-snatching behind enemy lines, magical libraries, complicated parental relationships, deep-seated prejudices, and suspicious felines. An enticing genre mashup. Horror, sci-fi, and fantasy readers alike will find something to love and someone to root for.

Dec 312019
 

Chinese rights to Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG, to Xiron, by Gray Tan at The Grayhawk Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier, for Cameron McClure.

Czech rights to New York Times bestselling author Yoon Ha Lee’s REVENANT GUN, the third book in the Machineries of Empire series, to Host, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Hungarian rights to USA Today bestselling author Tamsyn Muir’s GIDEON THE NINTH, the first book in the Locked Tomb trilogy, to Fumax, by Milena Kaplarević at Prava i prevodi in association with Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Israeli rights to Skye Warren’s THE KNIGHT and THE CASTLE, to Sifrut Shenogaat, by Beverley Levit at The Israeli Association Of Book Publishers Ltd., on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Russian rights to Donald Maass’s WRITING THE BREAKOUT NOVEL and THE FIRE IN FICTION, to Azbooka-Atticus, by Alexander Korzhenevski Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

Turkish rights to Robert Sheckley’s Immortality Inc. and Status Civilization, to Ithaki, in a two-book deal, by Merve Ongen at ONK Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Polish audio rights to NYT bestselling author Jim Butcher’s CHANGES, GHOST STORY, COLD DAYS, and SKIN GAME, to Storytel, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi in association with Michael Curry on behalf of Jennifer Jackson.

 

Nov 302019
 

a pair of black ear budsAudio rights to three novels (THE BRIDE WORE CONSTANT WHITE, THE DANCER WORE OPERA ROSE, and THE MATCHMAKER WORE MARS YELLOW) and four novellas (CARRICK HOUSE, SELWYN PLACE, HOLLY COTTAGE, and GWYNN PLACE) in Shelley Adina’s Magnificent Devices series, to Kim Budnick at Tantor Media, by Michael Curry for Jennifer Jackson.

Audio rights to Sarah Pemberton Strong’s THE FAINTING ROOM, to Kim Budnick at Tantor Media, by Katie Shea Boutillier on behalf of Cameron McClure.

Nov 302019
 

Chinese rights to C.L. Polk’s WITCHMARK, to Chongqing, in a pre-empt, in a three-book deal, by Ping Chang at The Grayhawk Agency on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Caitlin McDonald.

Czech rights to Robert McCammon’s USHER’S PASSING, to Dobrovsky, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

Czech rights to Brent Week’s THE BURNING WHITE, to Fantom Print, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Donald Maass.

French rights to Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG, to Monsieur Toussaint Louverture, by Robin Batet at Anna Jarota Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

German rights to Robert McCammon’s THE PROVIDENCE RIDER, to Luzifer, by Sarah Knofius at Thomas Schlueck Agency on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Cameron McClure.

German rights to Caitlin Starling’s THE LUMINOUS DEAD, to Frank Festa at Festa, by Sarah Knofius at Thomas Schlueck Agency, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier for Caitlin McDonald.

Hungarian rights to Emily Wibberley and Austin Siegemund-Broka’s ALWAYS NEVER YOURS, to Mora, by Milena Kaplarevic at Prava I Prevodi, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.

Japanese rights to Carolyn Crane’s AGAINST THE DARK, to Futami Shobo, by Kohei Hattori at The English Agency on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier, for Cameron McClure.

Spanish rights to Shaun David Hutchinson’s WE ARE THE ANTS, to Kakao Books, by Amaiur Fernandez at International Editors’, on behalf of Katie Shea Boutillier.